

VicTESOL

Email: victesol@victesol.vic.edu.au **Web:** www.victesol.vic.edu.au

VicTESOL Annual General Meeting – DRAFT Minutes

Date:	Monday 5 th December 2022
Time:	4.30pm – 5.00pm
Venue:	Online- Zoom

Attendance:

Michelle Andrews, Shahnaz Anoushirvani Tafreshi, Manjit Bhamral, Clare Blackman, Yan Yao Choong, Margaret Corrigan, Mollie Daphne, Angela Di Sciascio, April Edwards, Merrilyn Gaulke, Amelia Gedye, Mairead Hannan, Rebekah Jones, Souraya Karaan, Anne Keary, Huyen Le, Miranda liao, Shem Macdonald, Pauline Morrow, Rod Neilsen, Adam Quayle, Carly Russo, Nikeh Shariatian, Anna-Lise Wallis, Elizabeth Keenan, Mark Melican, Emily Tucker, Georgie Badr

Apologies:

Amanda Douglas, Asher Browne, Barbara Braun, Bec Gilles, Ceris Crosby, Chris Payne, Daniel Weaich, Elena Di Mascolo, Eleni Vlemmas-Kandias, Gurmeet Kaur, Jan Bruder, Jane Sutton, Jeniffer Mackie, Jessie Sambell, Jo Lo Bianco, Joanne Zions, Kate Grennan, Kirsty Costa, Linda Tuckett-Nikijuluw, Melek Mustafaoglu, Nahid Nouri, Naomi Wilks-Smith, Narelle Woods, Oksana Razoumova, Panayiota Kai, Paris Ladas, Peggy Krenn, Preet Gulati, Rebecca Treloar, Renee Furner, Russell Cross, Ruth Widiastuti, Sanju Ratnam, Susan Stanyer, Suzanne Estella, Suzanne Gatz, Tanya Rykovska, Tequila Chen, Tracy Marr, Mat Hines, Anne Austin, Jennifer Savory, Molly Flowers, Simone Cassidy, Alan Williams

1. Introduction & acknowledgement of	Introduction and Acknowledgement of Country by Mairead Hannan.
country	
2. Welcome and attendance	Mairead Hannan read through apologies.
	Quorum reached.
3. Confirmation of agenda	Agenda confirmed.
4. Confirmation of minutes	Request for title to be amended to 'Minutes' (replace
from 9 th December 2021	'Agenda').
AGM	Moved: April Edwards
	Seconded: Shem Macdonald
	Minutes accepted.
5. President's Report	Margaret Corrigan (President) delivered President's
	report.
6. Treasurer's Report	Adam Quayle (Treasurer) delivered Treasurer's report and
	provided financial statements and auditor's report
	for the year ended 31 October 2022.

7. Election of 2023 Executive and Committee Members	The 2023 Executive Committee were elected unopposed. President: Margaret Corrigan
	Vice President: Angela Di Sciascio
	Treasurer: Adam Quayle
	Secretary: Carly Russo
	Those who nominated for the General Committee were accepted: Amelia Gedeye, April Edwards, Manjit Bhamral, Rebekah Jones, Joanne Goodman, Mollie Daphne, Shem Macdonald, Simone Cassidy.
8. Presentation of the VicTESOL Research Grant 2022	April Edwards introduced the VicTESOL Research Grant and thanked the advisory panel and the support of Dr Yvette Slaughter and Dr Jenny Barnett. Dr Anne Keary was acknowledged for the establishment of the Research Grant. April announced the recipients of the 2022 VicTESOL Research Grant: Dr Shem Macdonald (La Trobe University), Ms Elizabeth Keenan (Carringbush Adult Education), and Ms Emily Tucker (Carringbush Adult Education) for their project 'Developing speaking: in class and digitally-mediated teaching and learning of oral language'. Shem, Elizabeth and Emily accepted the grant and provided a response outlining the project.
9. Meeting Closes	Mairead concluded the meeting by thanking everyone for attending the AGM and closed the formal part of the meeting. Meeting closed at 4.58pm.