



Supporting English language teaching, learning and multicultural education

Email: victesol@victesol.vic.edu.au **Web:** www.victesol.vic.edu.au

Annual General Meeting- DRAFT Minutes

Date: Monday 4th December, 2023

Time: 4.30pm

Venue: Online- Zoom

Apologies Amanda D, Annette Dupont, Annette Vella, Annie Austin, Brigeen Gilroy, Debra

Edwards, Eleanor Cameron, Kim Hobbins, Linda Mckenzie, Lyndal Ryan, Marion Evans, Melek Mustafaoglu, Mina Elahi, Paula Correia, Russell Cross, Serene Eng, Skye, Susanne Stanyer, Jan Sinclair, Robyn Thompson, Bernadette Parnis,

Yan Yao Choong, Frances Conron, Michiko Weinmann,

Attendance Adam Quayle, Amelia Gedye, Angela Di Sciascio, Anna-Lise Wallis, Anne Keary,

April Edwards, Carly Russo, Cathy Gill, Clare Blackman, Dannie Wang, Haoran Zheng, Joanne Goodman, John Raftopoulos, Leah Santilli, Linh Le, Madeleine Parker, Manjit Bhamral, Margaret Corrigan, Mark Melican, Michelle Andrews, Mollie Daphne, Rebekah Piper Jones, Sashka Stavreski, Shem Macdonald, Shu

Ohki, Simone Cassidy.

1.	Introduction & Acknowledgement of Country	Introduction and Acknowledgement of Country by Anne Keary.
2.	Introduction of guest speaker, Leah Santilli, Outreach Educator for the NGV Presentation	Introduction of Leah Santilli (Outreach Educator for the NGV) by Anne Keary.
3.	Presentation	Presentation by Leah Santilli, Outreach Educator for the NGV relating to partnership, collaboration, building communities. Leah acknowledged the successful collaboration of VicTESOL and NGV throughout the year including the Language Exchange program. Leah facilitated a Visual Thinking Strategies exercise relating to artwork.
4.	Welcome and attendance	Anne Keary noted apologies. Quorum reached.
5.	Confirmation of agenda	Agenda confirmed. Moved: Angela Di Sciascio Seconded: Margaret Corrigan
6.	Confirmation of minutes from 5 December 2022 AGM	Minutes accepted. Moved: Shem Macdonald Seconded: Joanne Goodman

7.	President's Report	Margaret Corrigan (President) delivered President's report.
		Moved: April Edwards
		Seconded: Cathy Gill
8.	Treasurer's Report	Adam Quayle (Treasurer) delivered Treasurer's report and
	Financial statements and auditor's report for the year ended 31 October 2023	provided financial statements and auditor's report for the year ended 31 October 2023.
		Moved: Manjit Bhamral
		Seconded: Marg Corrigan
9.	Election of 2024 Executive and Committee Members	The 2024 Executive Committee were elected unopposed.
		President: Margaret Corrigan
		Vice President: Angela Di Sciascio
		Secretary: Carly Russo
		Treasurer: Adam Quayle
		Those who nominated for the General Committee were accepted.
		General Committee:
		Manjit Bhamral
		Simone Cassidy
		Molly Daphne
		April Edwards
		Amelia Gedye
		Joanne Goodman
		Rebekah Piper Jones
		Dannie Wang
10.	Presentation of the VicTESOL Research Grant 2023	Angela Di Sciascio introduced the VicTESOL Research Grant and thanked the advisory panel. Angela announced the recipients of the 2023 VicTESOL Research Grant; Dr Shu Ohki (University of Melbourne), Dr Julie Choi (University of Melbourne), Ms Cath Ferla (Western English Language School), and Ms Thea Ho (Western English Language School) for their project "Mobilising EAL learners' cultural and linguistic resources through content and language integrated pedagogy".
11.	Meeting Closure	Anne Keary concluded the meeting by thanking everyone for attending the AGM and closed the meeting at 5.14pm.