VicTESOL Symposium 2017

Event Running Order

Session details
8:30 – 9:00am Registration
9:00 – 9:15am Welcome
9:15 – 10:15am Keynote

Associate Professor Jane Wilkinson

Building bridges between schools and everyday learning spaces for refugee students

10:20 – 10:50am Parallel Sessions 1 Leadership

Abhishek Awasthi
(Teacher’s Lounge)


Robyn Spandonide & Ellie Akbari (E5 Studio)

Digital Technologies

Jade Sleeman (Dewey Common Room)

Research/Digital Technology

Dr Ekaterina Tour, Dr Maria Gindidis, Jess McCulloch & Janine Breadmore (Lecture Theatre)

10:50 – 11:20am Morning Tea
11:25 – 11:55am Parallel Sessions 2 Leadership

Margaret Nutbean (E5 Studio)


Dr Alan Williams (Lecture Theatre)


Rebecca Harris (Dewey Common Room)


Margaret Corrigan & Liz Keenan (Teacher’s Lounge)

12:00 – 12:30pm Parallel Sessions 3 Leadership

Mairead Hannan (E5 Studio)

12:30 – 1:45pm Lunch
1:50 – 2:20pm Parallel Sessions 4 Leadership

Rosemary Abboud (Lecture Theatre)

Digital Technologies

Voula MacKenzie & Nathan Chong (Teacher’s Lounge)


Haoran Zheng (E5 Studio)

2:25 – 3:25pm Keynote

Dr Jenny Barnett

Teacher standards and the EAL Elaborations

3:30 – 4:00pm Afternoon tea & networking